My Lemonade Stand

20130725-114931.jpg

by Troup

People often say, “when life gives you lemons, make lemonade.” This popular phrase took on a new, deeper meaning for me a few years back when I got hit with a bunch of lemons. Instead of making lemonade, I started my very own lemonade stand, which I proudly named TROUP.

Over the course of my career, I’ve been many things, including a Capitol Hill staffer, a lawyer, a lobbyist and a public affairs executive. From Capitol Hill to the City of Angels, I’ve earned accolades, endured setbacks and challenged myself to learn from both. I’ve known success and achievement, as well as rejection and criticism. I learned, in a very public way, to hold my head high in the face of questions about my character, integrity and ethics.

Now, I’m very proud to call myself an entrepreneur, an innovator and a thought leader. Unlike many business owners, I don’t have a formal business education, an MBA or a marketing degree. But like all successful entrepreneurs, I’ve got the courage, determination and relentless work ethic needed to transform the “ideas in my head” into a thriving, innovative business.

Starting my own business has tested my patience and pushed my limits. But I’ve become smarter and savvier in the process; I’ve learned that life and the pursuit of success is a marathon, not a sprint; and, I’ve proved that I can reinvent myself and my career. I’m proud to walk into a room and be recognized as a person and professional who’s as unique as his name.

In the interest of continuing to push myself to new heights, I’m (re)committing to my blog. Far too often in our hyper-connected society, we forego original content in favor or sharing, syndicating and Retweeting the thoughts of others. That’s never really been my style, and I’m excited to use this platform to share entirely original thoughts, feelings and opinions about the people, places and things that matter most to me. Stay tuned for more! Troup there it is!!

About troupconsulting

We're Champions of diversity. It's good for society. It's great for business.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to My Lemonade Stand

  1. Pingback: Shifting Your Professional Paradigms | troupconsulting

Leave a Reply

