Shifting Your Professional Paradigms

change1

As a military “brat” with an unusual first name who had to move and switch schools every 3 years or so, I learned how to adapt to change at a young age.  Change continued as a persistent theme well into my adult life.  I understand that whether personal or professional, it’s challenging to enter a new phase of life without a crystal ball to predict the future.

In our careers, adjusting to change is the best way to test our mettle, learn new tricks and reach higher heights.  If we’re able to shift our paradigms and view professional change as an opportunity instead of an obligation, it can provide the impetus required to reinvigorate our careers.

Since the economy tanked several years ago, I’ve met many people who were faced with abrupt professional changes – either by choice or out of necessity.  As someone who turned adversity into achievement, I love sharing my story and talking with fellow entrepreneurs who are working on their “second act.”

Regardless of where they begin, many of these conversations involve a discussion of how business owners respond when faced with challenges.  Everyone has different tools for overcoming obstacles – I happen to draw motivation and resolve from the words of great women and men who inspire me.

Each day, I read and share quotes on social media about business, leadership, hard work and persistence.  This is my (digital age) way of writing a note to myself on the bathroom mirror – and the practice has served me well, helping me stay focused and maintain proper perspective on a daily basis.

Here are 3 of my all-time favorite quotes.  I hope you’re able to draw inspiration from them as I have.

“The only person you are destined to become is the person you decide to be.” –Ralph Waldo Emerson. 

I like this quote because it speaks to our power to control our own destiny.  You can either stay stuck and unhappy, or realize you have the power to change.

“Every strike brings me closer to the next home run.” – Babe Ruth

This is a powerful quote because it properly situates setbacks, disappointments and rejection as part of our practice and preparation for future success.

“It is never too late to be what you might have been.” – George Eliot

Eliot clearly conveys that it’s never too late to achieve your dreams.  Each of us is able to reinvent ourselves and start our “second act” whenever we commit to the process and start down the path to success.

I’d love to read some of your favorite quotes.  Please leave them in the comment section below!  Troup there it is!!

About troupconsulting

We're Champions of diversity. It's good for society. It's great for business.
Image | This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Shifting Your Professional Paradigms

  1. Missy says:

    Troup, this message is truly enlightening and well written. I will be printing this entire blog and taping it to my mirror! Thank you for being such a strong leader.

Leave a Reply

